Holiday Gingerbread

13 Nov

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For some people, the holidays smells like crisp air, apple cider and pine trees. For others, like myself,  the holidays smell like warm spices coming from the kitchen – usually when I make these gingerbread. Typical holiday gingerbread tends to be hard and crunchy. The absence of that extra flour in these cookies make these almost as chewy and soft as a chocolate chip cookie, which steps up these gingerbread. Usually gingerbread is made in the holiday season, but no one’s stopping you from making these with biscuit cutters in the middle of the summer.

I’ll face it – my cookie cutter collection is a bit of a mess. I have odd shaped cutters, to say the least. There’s one set of misshapen gingerbread men where they are missing a head, leg or arm. Imagine the conversations I have when I bring these to the party (Casual Party-goer: Umm… this one has a bite in it. Me: Actually it was meant that way. Enjoy!). I probably have more… interesting cookie cutters than festive holiday ones. My collection includes a pig, a rocketship, a pineapple, a hippo, a turtle, a dinosaur, a music note – you name it, I have it. I found all of them at my new place of employment, To Set  A Table. I was actually making these cookies for the holiday set-up night to bring to everyone (Mind you, that was a long time ago, I’ve only found time to write this up now).

Now, time for the recipe!

Littlemissbakeaholic’s Holiday Gingerbread

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cup all purpose flour (You will need a lot more to coat the dough balls and dust your surface though)

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup butter, softened

1 cup white sugar

1 egg

1 tablespoon water

1/4 cup molasses

Extra sugar for sprinkling

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

2. Sift together the flour, ginger, baking soda, cloves and set in a small mixing bowl. You can set that aside for now.

3. In mixing bowl, cream together the butter and white sugar until it’s light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, then stir in the water and molasses (Trust me, you will need a spatula to get the molasses out).

4. Gradually add in the flour mixture and combine. The dough won’t seem as though it has enough flour in it, but please resist the temptation to add more! You can compensate by heavily flouring your surface later.

5. Now, it’s time to roll out the dough onto your heavily floured surface and cut out the dough with cutters. It’s best to form a large ball (a bit larger than an orange) and coat it in flour before rolling, as the dough is very sticky. Your laborious scraping cookies off of the counter will be rewarded when you bite into these chewy cookies!! Place the cookies on an ungreased baking sheet and sprinkle sugar on top for an added sweetness.

6. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets and enjoy!

 

[Edit: I am liking this new theme! It has seasonal options, so currently I’m in fall mode but it won’t be long until winter 🙂 Also, apologies for such a long wait for the next post. I’ve been very busy with my new job (!) and all the clubs/activities/midterms/life and haven’t found the time for a nice photography session with my little bits of baked goodness. Hopefully I will get some more holiday treats up this year, but I wouldn’t count on the post-a-week sort of regime we used to have]

Leave a Reply

