Card Shark Cupcakes

7 Oct

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think this was the first time I’d ever made Red Velvet cupcakes. I mean, I’ve made Red Velvet Cakes dozens of times before, but oddly enough, not Red Velvet cupcakes.  The good part, was that they were delicious. The cake was alright, kind of crumby but the frosting was probably my most successful and delicious frosting ever. Ever.

I started off making ‘DC Cupcakes’ cream cheese frosting, but stupidly added 1/2 cup butter instead of the 1/4 cup butter. The outcome? Extremely creamy and delicious. It easily frosted 22 cupcakes (with a bit left in the bowl) and could definitely pipe 24. So? Here’s the recipe.

– 1/2 cup butter

–  6 ounces cream cheese

– 4 cups icing sugar

– 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

(Usually frosting is very straight forward, but just incase here’s some instructions)

1. Beat butter and cream cheese.

2. Add in icing sugar a cup at a time and beat on high, scraping down sides.

3. Add vanilla extract and mix till combined.

4. Frost or pipe on

 

Very, very easy.

 

Anyways, these cupcakes are cards themed thanks to these little gumpaste cutters I got over the summer. My sister made the gumpaste card suits again (see her work with the Cute Pink Pig Cupcakes!) and they turned out pretty good 😉 I thought the lone heart on the cake would make a really sweet Valentines one – mental note! You can top them with all for or just one, it’s up to you! Either way, it makes some really sweet looking cupcakes.

3 Responses to “Card Shark Cupcakes”

  1. Roscoe Tannazzo October 22, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    Im not sure why but this weblog is loading extremely slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end? Ill check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  2. juliarose October 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    Hi Roscoe!
    I’m not sure – I’ve never had problems with slow loading of the webpage, sometimes it just takes a little longer for the slideshow of photos to load. It might depend what browser or operating system you have. I’m using Google Chrome.

  3. seo singapore November 2, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

