Classic Whoopies

21 Sep

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t those look delicious?

Whoopie Pies are the new cool treats on the block. You know how cupcakes had their 15 minutes of fame and thousands and thousands of cupcake-specified bakeries opened up? Well all of that’s over now because it’s about time that everyone made room for the Whoopie.

Whoopie Pies are basically sandwich cremes, but with cake mix and icing. Similar to Oreo Cakesters. Starbucks also made them popular, with releasing their Red Velvet Whoopie Pies (trust me, make them homemade and they taste better). Whoopies are typically made with chocolate cake and vanilla icing, and those are the kinds I made today. See also my attempt at Reverse Classic and Lemon for more tips on making your own whoopies.

New tip I have for you today?

 

Detailed Icing.

Sure – you can slather on the frosting with a spatula and call it a day, but wouldn’t it be so much more satisfying to have made beautiful little swirls that you can admire? The best part is – it’s super easy! Simply fill the icing in the piping bag outfitted with a star tip and pipe the icing straight on the center of the whoopie so it piles up nice and high and then place the other pie on top and smush it down. It’s unbelievably simple and beautiful! Try it that way next time you serve up some whoopie pies 🙂

2 Responses to “Classic Whoopies”

  1. Marvella Reesor October 21, 2011 at 4:30 am #

    I am not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  2. juliarose October 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    Hi Marvella!
    I’m a baking generalist: I read the blogs, catch on with the trends and check the news. By now, everything is common sense to me 😛
    I’ll try and add more basic info next time I make a batch of whoopie pies!

Leave a Reply

